Critiquing for Maximum Benefit and Minimum Hurt Feelings–part 1 of 7

Really enjoyed these insightful tips about writing critiques found on the Sub It Club website. Thought I’d share it with you via this nifty reblog button . . .

Sub It Club

The Grand Poobah,

not an actual rendering of heather burnell not an actual rendering of heather burnell

Heather Burnell, has asked me to write a post about how to critique since we now have a sparkling, fancy Sub It Club Critique Partner Matchup. And of course I’ve thought of so many things to say about critiquing it will take seven parts.

First, a little bit about my critiquing past to convince you that I know what the heck I’m talking about. I’ve been a member of several different critique groups since 2008, some specific to the YA genre and several all-genre situations. Currently, I moderate a monthly YA critique bunch and attend a weekly all-genre critique group that has been around for decades. I’ve done a Benefits of Being Critiqued talk for SCBWI, run critique roundtables at quite a few SCBWI conferences and with Jenn Bailey, designed and facilitated a Critique Speed Dating workshop for SCBWI…

View original post 391 more words

Leave a Reply

